Labour Research June 2009

Law Matters

Worker registration scheme runs to 2011

The government has extended the Worker Registration Scheme for employees from the eight Accession states — the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Under The Accession (Immigration and Worker Registration) (Amendment) Regulations 2009, employees from those countries with less than 12 months approved work must register with the Home Office.

This requirement will now continue until 30 April 2011. Although this would seem to be incompatible with the principle of free movement of workers, it is permissible under EU law provided that the rules are designed to prevent a “serious disturbance to the labour market”.